A Beautiful Bed.

0b9181bfe369155ceea531a34c570588

Do you make your bed in the morning?

I do. My bedroom is my sanctuary. A well made bed, for me, is an invitation for peaceful slumber, meditative contemplation, and sensual expression. Therefore, I take great care with how I dress my bed and how I keep it from day to day.

Everyone has their own preference of colors on a bed, and I love pure white. Everyone looks good in white sheets, it is a blank canvas for whatever you can dream up. Like white plates, a French custom, food for the soul and food for the body is just so elegant in a white bed.

Each morning, I participate in a zen-ful meditation of taking my bed apart and remaking it. I take my time and become quiet, lovingly re-creating the welcome I received the night before. Smoothing the sheets, plumping the pillows, shaking out the duvet, and placing the extra thick, extra comfy additions atop our sleeping pillows; to recline on later when I climb in to read something inspiring. There is always a pile of books by each of our sides, and many a great conversations are had each evening.

There is no need to escape to a hotel room for a luxurious bedroom experience, you can create that at home. Our new bed, (we upgraded to a King) takes longer to make and I travel around it methodically, this side, that side, smooth here, tuck there, back and forth, back and forth, until satisfied, I contemplate the simple yet expansive beauty before me. This simple meditation brings me peace and joy.

I look forward to peeling back the covers the coming evening, and imagine what secrets will be shared with my partner as night falls. Outside my window, a giant moss covered boulder, hummingbirds, dappled sunlight and a lone Arbutus tree. How could I leave a tousled bed for all that nature to look in on? They give, I give.

Sometimes we use our room as the place to shove all the things we want to hide, and shut the door from visitors. But I like mine open, tidy, uncluttered. It keeps me accountable to myself.

I hope you make time for bed-making. In every moment, find divinity. In every act, find love.

(this is not my room, but it’s pretty darn close to how my bed looks, and the style I keep my room in – the the feel of it – give or take a few faux fur throws to tumble around on)

One thought on “A Beautiful Bed.

  1. When my bed is made depends entirely on my cat’s schedule. You see, Purrl is twenty-two, and I would never turn her out from under the duvet. Age has its privileges. Your bed meditation, however, is lovely. We each, I suppose, have our own definition of sanctuary. Mine is deeply colored by my delight in having my own bedroom after sixty years of sharing with someone else. I find it delightful.

Leave a Reply

